Copyright © Allan Clarke The Modern Mystic League            Use of this site means that you accept our Terms of Use


John J Wareing

(Founder and first President of the League)

W Beaver

W Bamber

Thomas Livesey

R Denham

Thomas Jennings

James Dobson

Myron Carruthers

J Stanworth Albert Chambers was the next member to be elected, on the 5th May, 1914.

To date, there have been almost 250 members of the Modern Mystic League. During this time, we have had over 60 Presidents, 20 Chairmen, 18 Secretary’s, 16 Concert Secretary’s, 14 Treasurers, 12 Magazine editors, 22 Librarians and 3 Webmasters. Our longest ever serving member was Jack Ledwick, who had over 70 years membership before he passed away in 2009.

Current subscribing members have over 860 years in service between them. John Pye with over 50 years membership is our current longest serving member along with Derrick Smith, who is a very close second.

Back in 1914 the annual subscription was 2 shillings and six pence (that’s 12.5p in new money!) Using average earnings inflation figures, this value today would equate to £59.40. So it seems like we continue to give good value.

The Modern Mystic League has awarded Honorary Vice Presidencies to members and non-members who in the view of the League have made significant contributions to the Society in particular and to the world of magic in general.

Who are we?

The Modern Mystic League was founded in 1914. The first meeting being on February 12th, at 54 Galligreaves Street, Blackburn (the home of Mr Thomas Jennings) The invitation to form a Society of Magicians in Blackburn was from Mr John J Wareing.

Founders of the League

We currently have over 40 members including a number of Juniors who have their own meeting prior to the main event each month.

Monthly meetings are usually held on the second Sunday of the month but are subject to change. Always check our calendar before setting off!

We are able to pull together a team of magicians who can provide entertainment for your party or function. We often provide an evening of Magic as a way of helping clubs or organisations raise funds. Use the contact form to enquire about the details.

An Evening of Magic?

Debbie McGee

John Pye

Hon Vice Presidents: